Stay up to date with all the latest from Shared Value Project by signing up to our eNewsletter

‘Oscars’ for purpose-led business recognise organisations solving Asia Pacific’s urgent challenges

October 24, 2019


Shared Value Awards 2019 mark five years since the movement towards positively redefining capitalism – to drive purpose and profit – was introduced

24 October 2019: The Asia Pacific’s top corporate leaders and organisations driving the shift towards redefining capitalism for 2019 have been recognised at the pre-eminent Shared Value Awards.

Hosted by PwC Australia, the annual Awards were attended by more than 150 of the region’s leading business executives in Melbourne last night.

Established in 2016, the Awards acknowledge organisations using shared value to deliver on their purpose, along with individuals who are influencing better outcomes for business and society. The social issues being addressed by the Awards shortlist include climate action, sustainable employment, financial inclusion, community resilience and improved health and wellbeing.

Shared value is a profitable business strategy, designed to solve social issues by leveraging the resources, skills and assets of the corporate sector.

Shared Value Project CEO Helen Steel said: “Our social and environmental issues have never been greater. Civilians’ calls for change have never been so prolific. And the imperative for corporations to act is most acute. The only question, in this defining moment for business, is whether to lead or to follow.

“I congratulate the individuals and companies shortlisted for the Awards, and applaud their courageous leadership in taking a new kind of shared value-oriented capitalism forward.”

Chair of the Awards Selection Committee Steve Spurr said: “To secure a social licence to operate, taking action on the issues material to all stakeholders is paramount. The unprecedented quantity and calibre of award entries received this year indicates the accelerated adoption of this approach, and shows organisations that this can be profitable for all.”

Shared Value Champion award winner, and Advisor and former Chairman of Carnival Australia Ann Sherry AO, said: “It is an important honour to receive this award at a time when courageous and decisive leadership is so crucial to ensuring business and societal prosperity.

Ms Sherry added: “For all our progress, we still have much work to do to embed shared value thinking in every boardroom in Australia. And we must, if business and society is to thrive – if not, survive – into the future.”

Award attendees heard from keynote speaker, PwC Australia CEO Luke Sayers; who was made a Member of the Order of Australia earlier this year for his exceptional commitment to business, people with disabilities and the broader community. PwC Australia is the newest member of the Shared Value Project; the peak body for advancing the adoption of shared value in the Asia Pacific.

Shared Value Project Chair Peter Yates AM announced the addition of an Investing in Shared Value Award for 2020, to acknowledge the important rise of impact investing.

The 2019 Shared Value Award winners are as follows:

Shared Value Champion

Carnival Australia Advisor and former Chairman Ann Sherry AO

Shared Value Trailblazer

Good Shepherd Microfinance CEO Peter McNamara

Corporate organisation leading through shared value

Highly Commended: IAG 
Winner: AIA Australia

Small/medium organisation leading through shared value (a new Award for 2019)

Highly Commended: U Ethical 
Winner: G For Good

Shared value project by an organisation or collaboration

Highly Commended: NAB’s Clean Energy Finance
Winner: Project PAVE (Engro Fertilizers Limited and Engro Foundation, MEDA Canada, DFAT Australia)

Shared Value Organisation to Watch

Intrepid Group

See here for more information about the Awards, and here for a full shortlist.

For more information, or to co-ordinate interviews, please contact:

Cerisse Denhardt
Media and Communications Lead at Shared Value Project 

M: 0420206801

Notes to editors:

The 2019 Shared Value Awards Selection Committee comprised Steve Spurr (Chair); Peter Yates AM; PwC Managing Partner, People, Partnership & Culture Helen Fazzino; IAG Executive GM, Safer Communities Ramana James; and Nestle Oceania CEO Sandra Martinez.